Overworking

I’m writing this draft late at night after a long day at work and I am still working and looking at a large pile I brought home that just isn’t going to get done. This is yet another one of my drinking triggers. I am a perfectionist that thinks that everything needs to be done perfectly every time on time. I am also a person who doesn’t to work perfectly on time every time. This is then a stick I use to beat myself up for not living up to unreasonable expectations. Eventually the rest of my brain gets tired of getting beaten and says “screw this, we just need a drink and we can all feel better.” I am not going to drink tonight. Instead I am going to put this laptop down, play a game for about half an hour, take a shower and go to bed. There is always more work that can be done tomorrow. And no, I’m not going to take the time to search Flikr for a relevant picture. This post doesn’t have to be perfect, either. Good night.

